Research Centers

Home / Research Centers

Twenty one Research Centres currently operate under the Research Council. These centres have been founded within the respective Faculties by committedand enthusiastic academics with strong research backgrounds. With the establishment of the RC-USJP, all such centres have been brought under its purview, creating a common research and development innovation platform for the convergence and cooperation.

They are as follows:

1. Centre for Water Quality and Algae Research – Faculty of Applied Sciences

2. Centre for Advanced Materials Research – Faculty of Applied Sciences

3. Centre for Dengue Research – Faculty of Medical Sciences

4. Centre for Cancer Research – Faculty of Medical Sciences

5. Centre for Kidney Research – Faculty of Medical Sciences

6.Research Centre for Management Studies & Commerce – Faculty of Management Studies and Commerce

7. Multi-disciplinary Research Centre – Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

8. Interdisciplinary Centre for Innovation in Biotechnology and Neurosciences – Faculty of Medical Sciences

9. Centre for Biotechnology – Faculty of Applied Sciences

10. Centre for Forestry and Environment – Faculty of Applied Sciences

11. Innovation Centre for Robotics & Intelligent System (RIS)- Faulty of Applied Sciences

12. Apple research & Development Centre- Faulty of Applied Sciences

13. Research and Professional Development Centre (EMVRPC) Department of Estate Management and Valuation,

14. National Center for Primary Care and Allergy Research – NCPCAR

15. Research Centre for Governance and Public Policy

16. Centre for Plant Materials and Herbal Products Research

17. Ecosphere Resilience Research Center

18. Non Communicable Diseases Research Centre(NCDRC) – Faculty of Medical Sciences

19. Centre for Mindfulness-based Research and Practices – Faculty of Medical Sciences

20. Centre for Advanced Forensic Research – Faculty of Medical Sciences

21. Centre for Marine Science and Technology (CMST) –Faculty of Applied Sciences

22. Centre for Mindfulness Based Research and Practices – Faculty of Medical Sciences

Publications arising from the University Research Centres established under University Research Council

  1. All publications should have the university email address as the corresponding authors email address.
  2. University of Sri Jayewardenepura (with correct spelling) and the name of the Research Centre should appear as the corresponding author’s institutional affiliation.
  3. University of Sri Jayewardenepura should be acknowledged as the funding agency.
  4. All conference proceedings should at least have the University of Sri Jayewardenepura (with correct spelling) and the Name of the Research Centre as author’s institutional affiliation. At all possible times acknowledge the Research Council of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura as the funding agency.

Correct spelling that should be used are as follows: University of Sri Jayewardenepura
Correct abbreviation for the university is as follows: USJP


The Management Structure

Each Research Centre will consist of a Board of Management as follows.

Members of the board
External members
Senior Assistant Bursar of the Faculty-Ex-officio post

The meetings of the Board of Management of the respective Research Centre shall be conducted once in three months a time. The minutes of the respective meetings and the three-monthly progress reports should be submitted to the Board of Management of Research Centres, which will be held once in three months a time. The Directors of the Research Centres should present progress and discuss any problems encountered at these meetings. The Board of Management of Research Centres shall submit a detailed report to the Research Council on a quarterly basis.